CSAR Symposium – The Sky's the Limit!

To commemorate more than a dozen years of technical advancement and success at the Center for Simulation of Advanced Rockets, CSE hosted a symposium and gala celebration on October 13-14, 2009. The combined technical symposium and reunion was held in the Colonnades Club on the third floor of the recently renovated Memorial Stadium, 1402 South First Street, Champaign, IL 61820.

The Symposium highlighted the progress made by the Center and its alumni — with leading faculty, staff, and student alums presenting their past and current research efforts. In addition to current and past CSAR members, our DOE and industrial sponsors and members of the CSAR External Advisory Board also participated. The Symposium featured a series of 30 minute presentations by individual speakers plus group discussions and social functions. All current and former members of the CSAR family were invited to attend.

Symposium Schedule

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

8:00 am   Full Breakfast
8:30 am   Vice Chancellor Ravi Iyer – University Welcome
Prof. Michael Heath – Welcome and Overview
9:30 am   Dr. Robert Voigt – SAIC Nuclear Security Division
Dr. Dick Watson – Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Dr. Thuc Hoang – National Nuclear Security Agency
10:15 am   Break
10:30 am   Dr. Andrew Eaton – ATK Launch Systems
Mr. Robert Geisler – Spiral
Mr. William Dick – CSAR and IllinoisRocstar LLC
12:00 pm   Lunch
1:00 pm   Prof. Keith Hjelmstad – Arizona State University
Prof. Amit Acharya – Carnegie Mellon University
Prof. Ertugrul Taciroglu – University of California at Los Angeles
2:30 pm   Break
3:00 pm   Prof. Eric de Sturler – Virginia Tech
Prof. Xiangmin (Jim) Jiao &ndash SUNY Stony Brook
Prof. Orion Lawlor &ndash University of Alaska, Fairbanks
4:30 pm   Discussion
6:00 pm   Social Hour and Dinner


Wednesday, October 14, 2009

8:00 am   Full Breakfast
8:30 am   Prof. Robert Moser – University of Texas at Austin
Dr. Fady Najjar – Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Prof. Andreas Haselbacher – University of Florida
10:00 pm   Break
10:30 am   Prof. John Buckmaster – Buckmaster Research
Dr. Thomas Jackson – CSAR
Dr. John Melcher – NASA Johnson Space Center
12:00 pm   Lunch
1:00 pm   Discussion
2:00 pm   Symposium Adjourns

Symposium Organizers


The CSAR Symposium is sponsored by the Computational Science and Engineering Program and the Center for Simulation of Advanced Rockets (CSAR) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. CSAR is funded by the Academic Strategic Alliance Program of the Advanced Simulation and Computing Program of the National Nuclear Security Administration of the U.S. Department of Energy, whose support is gratefully acknowledged.

The organizers would also like to thank Jodi Dorsett, Penny Carpenter, and Sheryl Hembrey for their assistance with logistical arrangements for the Symposium.